slowpopla.blogg.se

Skate kitchen movie larry clark
Skate kitchen movie larry clark







Like That One Day, the film blurs the lines between documentary and fiction, with authentic conversations and language. In Skate Kitchen, Vinberg plays Camille, a 18-year-old Long Islander who takes up an Instagram invite to hang out with a female skate crew. It was only a matter of time before Hollywood came knocking, with Moselle taking the concept of her short film and writing it large. Vogue heralded them as “New York’s coolest all-girl skate crew” Nike asked the girls to endorse its first female-only skate shoe they collaborated with Pharrell on his G-Star RAW campaign, and The New York Times dubbed them “fashion’s favourite girl skateboarders”. Since then, the collective’s feminist approach of love, understanding and inclusivity – they skate with guys – has seen their profile explode. “And in the comments sections, guys would say, ‘She should be in the kitchen,’ or, ‘That’s a funny-looking kitchen,’ so we called our crew The Skate Kitchen to mock that term.” “When I was young, I used to watch a lot of skate videos featuring girls,” says 20-year-old Vinberg. “We became The Skate Kitchen after that,” says Moran. Moselle’s short film That One Day, created for fashion label Miu Miu’s Women’s Tales series, told a fictionalised story of a girl’s experience at a regular male-dominated skatepark, as seen through the eyes of Vinberg’s character. ” Add Ajani Russell, 21, to the mix, and the crew was born. “I knew Dede and Kabrina because I went to high school with them, and I knew the twins from skating in Chelsea. “We were on our way to skate in a park, and she told us she wanted to do a short film and asked if we knew any other girls that skate,” recalls Moran, now 21. Their real-life story begins in 2016 with a chance encounter on the New York subway between Nina Moran and Rachelle Vinberg – two teenage skaters who had first met on YouTube – and film director Crystal Moselle, who was fresh from winning a Sundance Grand Jury Prize for her 2015 breakthrough documentary The Wolfpack. Punk rock! In any case, that’s the tone I wanted to give it.When indie flick Skate Kitchen debuted at Sundance Film Festival this year, it turned heads, not only because of its honest depiction of a New York all-girl skateboard crew, but because its female leads are the real deal – in the film, NYC posse The Skate Kitchen play fictional versions of themselves. Like a guide! But if I had to compare My name is Baghdad to another artistic object, it would not be a film but music. And in my short as in this long, as soon as I talk about youth, I come back to Kids. But also Larry Clark and precisely, even more than Wassup rockers, Kids whose discovery was a shock for me, a teenager to the point of not having the best influence on me: her characters had become a bit of models! (laughs) It was only later that I managed to digest this film, to understand all its power beyond what I had felt. In general, although the aesthetics of My name is Baghdad The cinema of Lucrecia Martel seems very far removed from it for the power of its female characters. My name is Baghdad spontaneously makes one think of Wassup rockers by Larry Clark and Skate kitchen by Chrystel Moselle. It’s there that My name is Baghdad has been built, that its dynamic has been put in place so that they can play without distorting who they are.

skate kitchen movie larry clark

To build their roles and get used to the camera, I worked for a long time upstream with a coach Marina Medeiros. That’s why once I chose them, so as not to break the naturalness that had attracted me to them, I did not give them the script. None had had any experience in front of a camera. I built my film around these teenage girls when I understood what skateboarding meant to them: a way of life. In the street with her skater friends who are also in the film. You reveal an incredible actress, Grace Orsato, who is making her big screen debut. In any case, I used this basis to imagine a film celebrating this idea that I pegged to the body: the certainty that women are stronger together and should not get lost in rivalries that damage each other’s potential. A book that I have very freely adapted, starting with its central character who was a boy. Because, if we go back to the origin of this project, it is a book by Toni Brandão, Baghdad the skater. And he was inevitably inspired by the environment in which I grew up, surrounded by strong women who had taken their destinies in hand.

skate kitchen movie larry clark

My name is Baghdad is first and foremost a film about women – of all generations – who challenge the norms of society. Is it this desire to talk about feminine solidarity that is at the origin of this film?Ĭaru Alves de Souza: You are right.

skate kitchen movie larry clark

A hymn to girl power where unity is strength.

skate kitchen movie larry clark

My name is Baghdad features a 17-year-old tomboy, the only female member of his band of skaters at the heart of a virile and oppressive Brazilian society for those who refuse to submit to these ancestral codes.









Skate kitchen movie larry clark